Important Messages:

Texas.Gov Payments General Maintenance

Notice to Operators: RRC Online Payments will be intermittently unavailable October 29, 2026, from 10:00 PM to 11:00 PM CT.  During this time, customers using RRC applications will be unable to process online payments through Texas.gov payment services and will be redirected to a maintenance page and unable to complete payments until after the maintenance is complete.

Proposed Rule Amendments: §§ 3.15 and 3.58

The proposed amendments to rules §§ 3.15 and 3.58, related to Senate Bill 1150 (89th Legislative Session, 2025), have been posted for public comment. Comments will be accepted until 5:00 pm on Friday, November 13, 2026. For more information, including an online comment form, please visit the RRC Proposed Rules page.

Plumber and ACR Contractor Registration

Section 13.70(b) of the Regulations for Compressed Natural Gas allows individuals who are currently licensed as master or journeyman plumbers by the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners or who are currently licensed with a Class A or B Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors License issued by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation to register with the Alternative Fuels Safety (AFS) department and be granted an exemption to the Category 2 and 3 service and installation employee examination requirements.

Note: The exempt individual must work for a company licensed by the Commission to perform CNG activities.


To register for this exemption the applicant will need to submit:

  • A completed Application for Registration, CNG Form 1016B
  • A legible photocopy of a current Master or Journeyman Plumbers or Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractor certificate
  • A legible photocopy of a state-issued picture identification card or driver's license
  • The correct registration fee



Registration:  Fees

Registration fee for Master or Journeyman Plumber or Class A or B Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Contractor

$30.00

Registration Renewal fees

$20.00

Late penalty fees

$20.00

 

Mail: Railroad Commission of Texas, Alternative Fuels Safety, P.O. Box 12967, Austin TX 78711-2967 
Email: training-exams@rrc.texas.gov
Fax: 512-912-7887



Commissioners